Missouri Western State University recognizes academic advising to be a critical component of the educational experience. Successful advising includes providing the necessary tools and information regarding educational and career plans compatible with student goals; meeting institutional and degree requirements; and preparing for a life of change, challenge and individual fulfillment as active citizens. The purpose of this award is to encourage and recognize an academic advisor who has demonstrated advising practices that go beyond minimum department expectations for academic advisement. 

  • Four awards consisting of $25 Gold Dollars with ARAMARK dining facilities; two awards will be given in the fall semester and two awards given in the spring semester
  • Awards are sponsored by Registrar’s Office, Admissions, Business Office, and Financial Aid
  • Nominations can be submitted by a student, faculty, department chair, supervisor, staff or administrator
  • No self-nominations are allowed
  • These awards are separate from the Outstanding Academic Advising Award
  • Award criteria: Must have served as an academic advisor at Missouri Western (faculty, professional, or staff) for at least one year
  • Once receiving a Shout-Out Award, an advisor is not eligible to receive it again for three years
  • Process: Complete online nomination form located at this link:  https://intranet.missouriwestern.edu/advising/shout-out-award-nomination/
  • Fall nominations are due on October 27, 2023, and spring nominations are due March 22, 2024
  • Award nominations should receive the endorsement of the department Chairs (or Academic Dean if Chair is nominated) or professional advisor’s or a staff advisor’s supervisor
  • Selection of these awards will be made by the members of the Academic Advising Council
  • Nomination form:
    • What is your relationship to the nominee?
    • What did this nominee do to receive this award? Why are you nominating him/her for this award?  How did this nominee go beyond expected job duties to provide outstanding advising?
  • Shout-Out Award recipients will be announced via email and in Griffon Weekly.

Advising Shout-Out Award Winners

Spring 2023
Teddi Deka (Psychology)
Shauna Hiley (Chemistry)

Fall 2022
Casey Bell (Business)
Julie Baldwin (Nursing)

Spring 2022
Ollie Bogdon (Education)
Stacia Bensyl (Communication)

Fall 2021
Jennifer Jackson (Communication)
Suzanne Kissock (Criminal Justice/Legal Studies)

Spring 2021
Madeline Rislow (Fine Arts)
Pam Clary (Health Professions)

Fall 2020
Dominic DeBrincat (Social Sciences & Humanities)
Adrienne Johnson (Education)