Governing Documents

The student body annually elects the President and Vice-President running together. There is a general election were two parties compete for votes of the students.

1972 Paul Hurst
1973 Mike Cazel
1974 Ray Pasley
1975 Rick Outersky
1976 Larry Wilson
1977 Brad Wolf
1978 Gary Willis
1979 Chuck Brandt
1980 Steve Mayberry
1981 Kendell Misemer
1982 Kendell Misemer
1983 Jacqueline Kennedy
1984 Jerry Enyeart
1985 Jerry Enyeart
1986 Mark Bensing
1987 Scott Schmille
1988 Duane Martin
1989 Mike Jung
1990 William Nunez IV
1991 Toby Cummings
1992 Cherly Mock
1993 Cherly Mock
1994 Obie Austin
1995 Johnathan Compton
1996 Mike Giovanni
1997 Ben Helt
1998 Susannah Maudlin
1999 Aaron Stiegler
2000 Aaron Stiegler
2001 Olu Aregbe
2002 Olu Aregbe
2003 Ryan Sevick
2004 Sylvester Brandon
2005 Elijah Haahr
2006 Luke Gorham
2007 Natalie Bailey
2008 Harold C. Callaway III
2009 Harold C. Callaway III
2010 Josh Todd
2011 Dillon Harp
2012 Alison Norris
2013 Jacob Scott
2014 Katy Sisco
2015 Daniel Hager
2016 Ida Haefner
2017 Alec Guy
2018 Kyle Fuson

The student body annually elects the President and Vice-President running together. There is a general election were two parties compete for votes of the students.
1972 Bill McIntosh
1973 Bill Walker
1974 David Cleavenger
1975 Larry Wilson
1976 Brad Wolf
1977 Larry Bryant
1978 Vicky Ryan
1979 Keith Evans
1980 Joanne Mason
1981 Mark Manville
1982 Jeff Elliot
1983 Craig Gilley
1984 Rick Grove
1985 Mark Bensing
1986 Marilee Steeb
1987 Joe Arnold
1988 Becky Lister
1989 Doug Nelson
1990 Toby Cummings
1991 Tom Palasky
1992 Darrell Howell
1993 Adam Kerr
1994 Johnathan Compton
1995 Daniel Grover
1996 Ben Helt
1997 Marc Highsmith
1998 Jim Bartly
1999 Shelby Coxon
2000 Molly Reid
2001 Kari Kemper
2002 Kim Burreta
2003 Steven Allee
2004 John Fabsits
2005 Ben Hultquist
2006 Jeff Knapp
2007 Luke Herrington
2009 Jennifer Kohler
2010 Ernest Chamblee
2011 Robin Ussher
2012 Jacob Scott
2013 Lauren Upton
2014 Dillon Williams
2015 Tyler O’Neill
2016 Brad Stanton
2017 Connor Samenus
2018 Reece Christensen

The Board of Governors is the umbrella for Missouri Western State University. The board meets ten times a year setting policies and procedures for the University as a whole. The Student Governor Position formally Student Regent is a unique position for a student that has four remaining semesters. This position is a gubernatorial appoint by The Governor of the Great State of Missouri including the seven citizen members. The appoint procedure starts on Missouri Western’s campus. There is a selected pool of highly qualified students that go through an application and interview process. The selection committee consists of the current Student Governor, SGA President, four at-large students from the student body and one student senate representative. No staff or university administration is represented the decision of the committee rests solely on the students. The student committee chooses three students from the pool of candidates. Consultation is sought from the Missouri Western’s External Affairs office for state representation. The three candidate’s applications are sent to the Director of Boards and Commissions in Jefferson City, Missouri. Each candidate is represented by their Congressional District Senator. An interview with the Boards and Commissions takes place at our state capital in Jefferson City, Missouri. The Governor reviews suggestions on all three candidates and selects one name for a Senate Confirmation Hearing. That candidate is then present for the hearing; is presented with questions; while represented by their Congressional District Senator. The Senate Committee approves or disapproves the selection. When the selection is approved by Senate in Jefferson City the decision is final. The Student Governor is sworn in at the next Board of Governors session, by the Circuit Court Judge representing Northwest Missouri. The Student Governor is the only representative for the entire student body and holds the power of not a vote, but of the voice of the students.

1985 Robert “R.J” Claassen
1986 Rodney Hill
1988 Melanie Johnson
1990 Anita Chancey
1992 Kevin Hayes
1994 Micky Mayes
1996 Kwanza Humphrey
1998 Kerri Clark
2000 Taylor Crouse
2002 Kevin Callaway
2004 Robert Hughs
2006 Harold C. Callaway III
2008 Dillon Harp
2010 Peter Gregory
2012 Brian Shewell
2014 Lionel Attawia
2016 Joseph Kellogg

SGA Seal
SGA Website